Nominees 2018

Product category


1 für 4 Papier
COMPOSTELLA

‘1 für 4 Papier’ (1 for 4 paper) is a pure cellulose paper produced from timber. Thanks to a specific mechanical treatment, the paper is greaseproof, heat resistant and suitable for direct contact with food. As such, it can replace conventional household products such as aluminium and plastic wrap, as well as siliconised baking paper. The Scandinavian timber derives from thinnings obtained during forest maintenance.

Band of Rascals
Band of Rascals GmbH
Design: SEIDENESMOPED

Every item of clothing from the sustainable and fair-produced ‘Band of Rascals’ children's clothing collection is GOTS-certified. Age-spanning design and high quality materials ensure a long product life. Hanging labels, marketing materials and shipping boxes are all manufactured from recycled or FSC-certified materials. Moreover, none of the labels are produced using optical brighteners. The production centre is in Portugal.

Fashion4Biodiversity
Cocccon, Creativity can care

The use of chemicals in silkworm breeding poses a threat to numerous species of animals and plants. Cocccon has developed a natural product that achieves results similar to those of chemical pesticides but which does not interrupt the metamorphosis of the silkworms. In this way, Cocccon has successfully manufactured GOTS-certified organic silk that has already been used in fashion collections. In addition, information about the silk making process is passed on with every piece of silk that is sold.

Nachhaltige Kochjacke
KAYA&KATO GmbH

This sustainably-produced chef’s jacket from KAYA&KATO is made of organic cotton. Purchases of this cotton from certified cultivation in Kyrgyzstan helps to support farmers' cooperatives. The sewing takes place exclusively in Europe under fair conditions. The chef’s jacket is skin-friendly, robust and can be washed at up to 95° C.

paprfloor
paprfloor
Design: Kobusch Design

‘Paprfloor’ was specifically designed for use at exhibitions and trade fairs. The paper floor is easy to lay down, individually printable and meets fire safety requirements for fire-resistant building materials. In contrast to conventional plastic flooring at trade fairs and comparable events, paprfloor is based entirely on paper. The flooring can thus be returned to the paper cycle after use. Production makes almost exclusive use of recycled paper.

SHIFT6m
SHIFT GmbH

‘SHIFT6m’ is a modularly constructed smartphone. Click and screw connections facilitate the repair of components and help to extend the service life. The company also offers tutorials and supplies corresponding tools to assist in the process of repair and maintenance. The warranty is not affected if the device is opened and the company has also set up a deposit return system if it needs replacing. SHIFT6m is produced under fair working conditions.

SYSBOARD® / FLEX
STUDIO HARTENSTEINER GmbH

‘Sysboard/FLEX’ is a modular acoustic wall system. The panels are made entirely from PET, which is largely derived from recycled drinking bottles. The surfaces are fixed together using Velcro and pivoting movements are enabled by longitudinal slots. In this way, stable and sound-absorbing surfaces can be set up and deployed in a flexible manner. Uses include meeting zones, telephone boxes or changing rooms. The system fulfils the requirements of fire protection class 1 and can thus be used in the trade fair and exhibition sector.

Urbanscape
Knauf Insulation GmbH

‘Urbanscape’ is an easy-to-install roof greening system. It consists of a drainage system of recycled polystyrene and a rock wool growth mat that does not contain any binding agents. The vegetation layer is already overgrown. No plasticisers or other chemical components are used during production. A robust Sedum mix in the vegetation mat ensures that the plants are able to survive longer periods of drought.

VELOSPEEDER
VELOGICAL engineering GmbH

‘VELOSPEEDER’ is an ultra-light retrofittable bicycle engine. Once attached to the rear wheel rim, the friction wheel drive transforms any conventional bicycle into a pedelec. The bicycle is driven by a pair of electric motors fastened to the rims, with no damage or alterations to the rims themselves. Significant resources are saved in the course of manufacturing compared to larger hub- or centrally-mounted motors.


Service category


RECUP
reCup GmbH
Design: Johanna Perret

‘RECUP’ is a comprehensive deposit system for ‘coffee to go’ in Germany: For a deposit of one euro, the coffee cup can be taken by the customer and later returned to any of the RECUP mug partners. The introduction of the returnable mug and the networking of partners prevents single-use waste and saves resources. The cups can be rinsed up to 500 times with no loss of quality, and they are light, unbreakable, tasteless, food safe and BPA free.

Refill
Refill Deutschland
Design: elbmedien

The voluntary initiative ‘Refill’ is committed to providing free-of-charge tap water for people on the move. Participating shops fill the water bottles without payment. All of those taking part in the action are listed and locatable online or can be identified by the ‘Refill’ sticker on the outside of the premises. Refill Deutschland was founded in spring 2017 in Hamburg and has now been expanded to a number of other cities.

vanilla bean
Grünzeug GmbH

Finding vegan and vegetarian restaurants is easy with the help of ‘vanilla bean’. The free app displays over 2,500 restaurants offering food made from organic and locally produced or fair trade ingredients. A filter function assists in the search for specific diets or eateries, for example gluten- and lactose-free menus. A restaurant traffic light system also provides information on health and environmental issues.


Concept category


Bazaar – Slow Manufacturing Tableware
SHAPES iN PLAY

‘BAZAAR’ is a platform for the design, production and distribution of customisable table objects. Through the use of a digital application, three basic porcelain elements serve as a basis for the design and creation of variants in other materials. A handicraft business from the BAZAAR network is subsequently commissioned with the production. With its modular design principles, BAZAAR emphasises the unmixed use of materials as well as local production. The project represents the coming together of craftsmanship and digital technology.

Magnic Microlights
Magnic Innovations GmbH & Co. KG

‘Magnic Microlights’ are brake blocks with integrated dynamo bicycle lights. The combination of brake block and lighting element is non-contact and functions on the basis of eddy-currents. Moreover, it does not require any additional components and can also be fitted on bikes with aluminium wheel rims. The novel product does away with the need for batteries, failure-prone cables or additional brackets.

Manitober
Manitober GmbH

‘Manitober’ manufactures and markets clothing for children aged between one and ten. Individual items can be returned after use. Returns are cleaned, repaired and offered for sale, thereby avoiding new production. The production makes use of ecologically compatible materials and pursues a timeless design in order to increase the useful life.

Toolbot
thingk.systems UG (limited liability)

‘Toolbot’ is a rental station for electric power tools. The station itself is made of recyclable metals and is manufactured from semi-finished products in simple forming processes. Tools can be borrowed via an app. The rental system helps to prevent electronic waste and reduce CO2 emissions.

Young Talent category


Denim Footprint
Ana Melissa Ortuño de Leon
ESMOD Berlin

How can jeans clothing be made more sustainable? The project ‘Denim Footprint’ examines the ecological and social consequences of denim production and provides users with recommendations in the form of a step-by-step guideline. Aspects such as longevity, repairability and viability are also discussed. The guideline will be available both online and in print.

Flaneur
Cosima Ariane Dörnte
Berlin University of the Arts

‘Flaneur’ is a 3D-printed orthopaedic sneaker made of thermoplastic polyurethane. 3D printing enables wearers to personalise their footwear was well as take account of individual misalignments or gaits. To this end, the feet are scanned and a running analysis is compiled. In turn, a CAD model is created with which footwear can be ordered online. Worn-out shoes can be returned for disposal.

hejhej-mats
Anna Souvignier, Sophie Zepnik
Malmö Högskola

The yoga mats from ‘hejhej-mats’ are made using the cuttings from foam production. The recycled material is laminated with a TPU film. This ensures that the mat is hard-wearing and durable as well as skin-friendly and hygienic. Worn-out yoga mats serve as a source of raw material for new production. Hejhej-mats offers a return service to assist in this process. On its blog and on social media, the start-up also provides information on topics such as sustainable consumption and resource scarcity.

Licht im öffentlichen Raum (Light in the public space)
Armin Warnecke
Muthesius College of Art

‘LP_01’ is a street lighting concept that counteracts light pollution. The system can be configured for different contexts and requirements. The combination of access to electricity with light infrastructure opens up a variety of occupancy possibilities for local residents and communities. The internal components of the stele can be individually removed and replaced.

M-Frame
Tobias Bahne, Yvonne Cosentino, Ioannis Jyftopoulos, Michael Then
Technical University of Munich

‘M-Frame’ is a door frame with an integrated module interface that enables diverse objects positioned in the vicinity of the door, such as light switches or thermostats, to be collectively supplied with power. As a result, there is no need to open walls or wire devices individually. The individual modules can also be exchanged, swapped out or adjusted in height.

NEULAND
Benedikt Bandtlow, Eleonore Eisath, David Meier, Steven Stannard
Technical University of Munich

The year is 2068: as a consequence of flooded farmlands and polluted ecosystems, farmers have lost their livelihoods. Using floating bodies of plastic landfill, ‘NEULAND’ wants to encourage the construction of cultivation areas in river deltas. In addition to locally available plastic waste, renewable resources can also be used for the construction of these islands. The sedimentation of the islands and the decomposition of the synthetic materials can also serve to regenerate the living environment and create promising opportunities for the future.

Shards
Lea Schücking
Kassel Art Academy

‘Shards’ is a project for ‘urban mining’: Bricks made of rubble and recycled glass are crushed, mixed and baked into tiles. The colour and feel is determined by the type of bricks used, the proportion of glass and the parameters of the temperature curve. Shards is a circular system in which broken tiles are processed into new tiles without quality loss and with low energy consumption.

URBAN TERRAZZO
TFOB / They Feed Off Buildings
Berlin University of the Arts

‘URBAN TERRAZZO’ uses building rubble as a basis for a new surface material. Assisted by modern technology, the concrete, bricks and other building materials are assembled according to the principles of traditional terrazzo art. Ultra high-strength concrete gives the material its structural stability, while ground pigments from old bricks lend the product its aesthetic character. Through the reuse of rubble, the material contributes to the creation of a closed-loop economy in the construction sector.

Presented and supported by


BMU
UBA

Developed and implemented by


IDZ

With assistance from


Advisory Board
Media partners


Please direct queries to


info@bundespreis-ecodesign.de

Nominierte 2018

Kategorie Produkt


1 für 4 Papier
COMPOSTELLA

„1 für 4 Papier“ ist ein reines Zellulosepapier, das aus Holz hergestellt wird. Dank einer mechanischen Behandlung ist es fettdicht, hitzebeständig und für den direkten Kontakt mit Lebensmitteln geeignet. Es kann somit konventionelle Haushaltsprodukte wie Alu- und Frischhaltefolie sowie silikonisiertes Backpapier ersetzen. Das verwendete Holz stammt aus skandinavischem Durchforstungsholz, das bei der Waldpflege anfällt.

Band of Rascals
Band of Rascals GmbH
Design: SEIDENESMOPED

„Band of Rascals“ ist eine nachhaltig und fair produzierte Kinderkleidungskollektion. Jedes Kleidungsstück ist GOTS-zertifiziert. Darüber hinaus werden alle Etiketten ohne optische Aufheller hergestellt. Ein altersunabhängiges Design und hochwertige Materialien sorgen für eine lange Produktlebensdauer. Hängeetiketten, Marketingmaterialien und Versandkartons werden aus rezyklierten oder FSC-zertifizierten Materialien produziert. Die Produktionsstätte befindet sich in Portugal.

Fashion4Biodiversity
Cocccon UG

Der Einsatz von Chemikalien in der Seidenraupenzucht bedroht viele Arten von Pflanzen, Tieren und Insekten. Cocccon hat ein natürliches Mittel entwickelt, das ähnliche Ergebnisse wie chemische Fungizide und Pestizide erzielt, die Metamorphose der Seidenraupen aber nicht unterbricht. Cocccon ist es so gelungen, GOTS-zertifizierte Bioseide herzustellen und für Modekollektionen zu nutzen. Mit jedem Stück Seide erhalten Käufer*innen Informationen über den Prozess der Seidenherstellung.

Nachhaltige Kochjacke
KAYA&KATO GmbH

Die nachhaltig produzierte Kochjacke von KAYA&KATO wird aus Bio-Baumwolle hergestellt. Die Baumwolle stammt aus zertifiziertem Anbau in Kirgisien, durch ihren Kauf werden Bauernkooperativen unterstützt. Genäht wird ausschließlich in Europa unter fairen Bedingungen. Die Kochjacke ist hautfreundlich, widerstandsfähig und lässt sich bei bis zu 95°C waschen.

paprfloor - temporärer Papierfußboden
paprfloor
Design: Kobusch Design

„paprfloor“ wurde speziell für den Messeeinsatz konzipiert. Der Papierfußboden lässt sich leicht verlegen, ist individuell bedruckbar und entspricht den Brandschutzanforderungen für schwer entflammbare Baustoffe. Im Gegensatz zu konventionellen Kunststoffböden auf Messen basiert „paprfloor“ vollständig auf Papier. Nach der Verwendung kann er somit dem Papierkreislauf zugeführt werden. Für die Herstellung wird fast ausschließlich Recycling-Papier verwendet.

SHIFT6m
SHIFT GmbH

„SHIFT6m“ ist ein modular aufgebautes Smartphone. Klick- und Schraubverbindungen erleichtern die Reparatur der Komponenten. Hierzu bietet das Unternehmen Tutorials an und liefert passendes Werkzeug mit. Das Öffnen des Geräts hat keinen Einfluss auf den Gewährleistungsanspruch. Nutzer*innen werden so befähigt, selbst den Lebenszyklus des Geräts zu verlängern. „SHIFT6m“ wird unter fairen Arbeitsbedingungen hergestellt. Das Unternehmen hat zudem ein Pfandsystem für die Geräterückgabe eingerichtet.

Sysboard ® / FLEX - Akustikwandsystem
STUDIO HARTENSTEINER GmbH

„Sysboard/FLEX” ist ein modulares Akustikwandsystem. Die Platten bestehen vollständig aus PET, das zu einem hohen Anteil aus rezyklierten Trinkflaschen stammt. Klettbänder fixieren die Flächen miteinander und eingebrachte Längsnuten ermöglichen Drehbewegungen. So lassen sich stabile und schallabsorbierende Flächen flexibel aufbauen und nutzen – beispielsweise für Besprechungsinseln, Telefonboxen oder Umkleidekabinen. Das System hat zudem die Brandschutzklasse 1 und kann somit im Messebereich verwendet werden.

Urbanscape
Knauf Insulation GmbH

„Urbanscape“ ist ein einfach verlegbares Dachbegrünungssystem. Es besteht aus einem Drainage-System aus rezykliertem Polystyrol und einer bindemittelfreien Steinwolle-Wachstumsmatte. Die Vegetationsschicht ist bereits bewachsen. Auf Weichmacher und andere chemische Bestandteile wird verzichtet. Ein robuster Sedum-Mix in der Vegetationsmatte sorgt dafür dass die Pflanzen längere Trockenperioden überdauern.

VELOSPEEDER Fahrradmotor
VELOGICAL engineering GmbH

„VELOSPEEDER“ ist ein ultraleichter nachrüstbarer Fahrradmotor. Angebracht an die Hinterradfelge, verwandelt der Reibradantrieb ein herkömmliches Fahrrad in ein Pedelec. Zwei Elektromotoren verkeilen sich hierzu paarweise an den Felgenflanken und treiben das Rad an, ohne dabei die Felgen zu beschädigen. Im Vergleich zu massiveren Naben- oder Mittelmotoren können bei der Herstellung des Velospeeders signifikant Ressourcen gespart werden.


Kategorie Service


RECUP
reCup GmbH
Design: Johanna Perret

„RECUP“ ist ein flächendeckendes Pfandsystem für Coffee-to-go in Deutschland: Gegen eine Leihgebühr von einem Euro kann Kaffee bei allen Partner*innen im „RECUP“-Becher mitgenommen und anschließend zurückgegeben werden. Durch die Einführung des Pfandbechers und die Vernetzung der Partner*innen lassen sich Einwegmüll vermeiden und Ressourcen schonen. Die Becher können ohne Qualitätsverlust bis zu 500-mal gespült werden. Sie sind leicht und bruchsicher, geschmacksneutral, lebensmittelecht und frei von BPA.

Refill Deutschland
Refill Deutschland
Design: elbmedien

Die ehrenamtliche Initiative „Refill“ setzt sich für kostenfreies Leitungswasser für unterwegs ein: Teilnehmende Läden füllen mitgebrachte Wasserflaschen ohne Entgelt auf. Wer sich an der Aktion beteiligt, lässt sich online einsehen oder an dem „Refill“-Aufkleber an Fenster oder Tür der Lokale erkennen. „Refill Deutschland“ wurde im Frühjahr 2017 in Hamburg gegründet. Weitere Städte haben sich der Bewegung bereits angeschlossen.

vanilla bean
Grünzeug GmbH

Mit „vanilla bean“ können Nutzer*innen vegane und vegetarische Restaurants finden. Eine kostenlose App zeigt über 2.500 Lokale an, die bio, Fair Trade und regionales Essen anbieten. Mithilfe einer Filterfunktion kann nach bestimmten Diäten oder Lokalen gesucht werden. So können beispielsweise gluten- und laktosefreie Menüs gefunden werden. Eine „Restaurantampel“ informiert darüber hinaus über gesundheits- und umweltbezogene Themen.


Kategorie Konzept


Bazaar – Slow Manufacturing Tableware
SHAPES iN PLAY

„BAZAAR“ ist eine Plattform zur Gestaltung, Produktion und zum Vertrieb von individualisierbaren Tischobjekten. Ausgehend von drei Grundelementen aus Porzellan können mittels einer digitalen Applikation Varianten in anderen Materialien generiert werden. Anschließend wird ein*e Kunsthandwerker*in aus dem „BAZAAR“ Netzwerk mit der Herstellung beauftragt. „BAZAAR“ setzt mit seinen modularen Gestaltungsprinzipien auf sortenreinen Materialeinsatz. Handwerk und digitale Technologie werden bei diesem Projekt vereint.

Magnic Microlights
Magnic Innovations GmbH & Co KG

„Magnic Microlights“ sind Bremsschuhe mit integrierter Dynamo-Fahrradbeleuchtung. Die berührungslosen, auf Wirbelstrombasis arbeitenden Felgendynamos funktionieren ohne Zusatzkomponenten und können an jeder beliebigen Fahrradfelge montiert werden. Die Zusatzinstallation von Lampen wird auf den nahezu unsichtbaren Austausch von Bremsklötzen reduziert. Auf Batterien, störanfällige Kabel oder zusätzliche Halterungen kann so verzichtet werden.

Manitober – Kinderbekleidung mit Rücknahmekonzept
Manitober GmbH

„Manitober“ produziert und vertreibt Unisex-Bekleidung für Kinder zwischen ein und zehn Jahren. Nach der Benutzung kann die Kleidung zurückgegeben werden. Die Rückläufer werden gereinigt, repariert und wieder zum Verkauf angeboten, wodurch eine Neuproduktion vermieden wird. Die Herstellung erfolgt mit ökologisch verträglichen Materialien. Um die Nutzungsdauer zu erhöhen, wird zudem auf ein zeitloses Design gesetzt.

Toolstation
thingk.systems, thingk.design

„Toolstation“ ist eine Verleihstation für Elektrowerkzeuge. Über eine App kann mit dem Werkzeug oder den Werkzeugkoffern kommuniziert werden. Die Station besteht aus rezyklierbaren Metallen, die in einfachen Umformverfahren aus Halbzeugen gefertigt werden. Das Verleihsystem trägt zur Vermeidung von Elektroschrott sowie zu einer Reduzierung von CO2-Emissionen bei.

Kategorie Nachwuchs


Denim Footprint
Ana Melissa Ortuño de Leon
ESMOD Berlin

Wie kann Jeanskleidung nachhaltiger gestaltet werden? Das Projekt „Denim Footprint“ geht den ökologischen und sozialen Folgen der Denimproduktion nach und gibt Empfehlungen in Form einer „Step-by-Step Guideline“. Dabei werden unter anderem Aspekte wie Langlebigkeit, Reparatur- und Kreislauffähigkeit behandelt. Die Guideline wird sowohl online als auch in gedruckter Version erhältlich sein.

Flaneur
Cosima Ariane Dörnte
Universität der Künste Berlin

„Flaneur“ ist ein 3D-gedruckter orthopädischer Sneaker aus thermoplastischem Polyurethan. Der 3D-Druck erlaubt es, den Schuh zu personalisieren und Rücksicht auf individuelle Fehlstellungen oder Gangarten zu nehmen. Hierfür werden die Füße der Träger*innen gescannt und eine Laufanalyse erstellt. Anschließend wird ein CAD-Model erstellt, mit dem Schuhe online bestellt werden können. Abgenutzte Schuhe können zur Entsorgung zurückgegeben werden.

hejhej-mats: recycelte, closed-loop Yogamatten
Sophie Zepnik, Anna Souvignier

Die Yogamatten von „hejhej-mats“ entstehen aus Schnittresten aus der Schaumstoffproduktion. Das rezyklierte Material wird dazu mit einer TPU-Folie kaschiert. So wird garantiert, dass die Matte strapazierfähig und langlebig, hautfreundlich und hygienisch ist. Gebrauchte Yogamatten dienen wiederum als Rohstoff für neue Produktionen. Hierfür bietet „hejhej-mats“ einen Rücknahmeservice an. Über Social Media und einen Blog informiert das Start-Up zudem über Themen wie nachhaltigen Konsum und Ressourcenknappheit.

Licht im öffentlichen Raum
Armin Warnecke
Muthesius Kunsthochschule

„LP_01“ ist ein Straßenbeleuchtungskonzept, das Lichtverschmutzung entgegenwirkt. Das System lässt sich für verschiedene Kontexte und die jeweiligen Anforderungen konfigurieren. Die Kombination der Stromzugänge mit der Lichtinfrastruktur eröffnet diverse Aneignungsmöglichkeiten für Bewohner*innen und Kommunen. Die internen Komponenten der Stele können einzeln abgenommen und ausgetauscht werden.

M-Frame
Tobias Bahne, Michael Then, Ioannis Jyftopoulos, Yvonne Cosentino
Technische Universität München

„M-Frame“ ist eine Türzarge mit integrierter Modulschnittstelle. Türnahe Objekte wie Lichtschalter oder Thermostate können darüber gebündelt mit Strom versorgt werden. Ein Aufstemmen der Wand und individuelles Verkabeln fallen somit weg. Einzelne Module können zudem getauscht, ergänzt oder höhenverstellt werden.

NEULAND
Eleonore Eisath, Benedikt Bandtlow, David Meier, Steven Stannard
Technische Universität München

Das Jahr 2068: Landwirt*innen haben aufgrund von überfluteten Anbauflächen und belasteten Ökosystemen ihre Existenzgrundlage verloren. Die Zukunftsvision „NEULAND“ möchte den Bau von Anbauflächen auf schwimmenden Kunststoffmüllkörpern in Flussdeltas ermöglichen. Neben dem Kunststoffmüll sollen für den Inselbau lokal verfügbare, nachwachsende Ressourcen verwendet werden. Die Verlandung der Inseln und die Zersetzung des Kunststoffs regenerieren den Lebensraum und schaffen Zukunftsperspektiven.

Shards
Lea Schücking
Kunsthochschule Kassel

„Shards“ ist ein „urban mining“-Projekt: Aus Bauschutt stammende Ziegel und rezykliertes Glas werden zerkleinert, vermischt und zu Fliesen gebrannt. Die Farbigkeit und Haptik wird durch die Art der eingesetzten Ziegel, das Mengenverhältnis zum Glas und den Verlauf der Temperaturkurve bestimmt. „Shards“ ist ein zirkuläres System, in dem ohne Qualitätsverlust und mit geringem Energieverbrauch zerbrochene Fliesen zu neuwertigen Fliesen verarbeitet werden.

URBAN TERRAZZO
TFOB / They Feed Off Buildings
Universität der Künste Berlin

„URBAN TERRAZZO“ nutzt Bauschutt für ein neues Oberflächenmaterial: Beton, Ziegel und andere Baustoffe werden nach den Prinzipien der traditionellen Terrazzo-Kunst und mithilfe zeitgenössischer Technologie zusammengefügt. Ultrahochfester Beton verleiht dem Material seine strukturelle Stabilität, geriebene Pigmente aus alten Ziegel seinen ästhetischen Charakter. Durch die Wiederverwendung von Bauschutt trägt der Werkstoff zur Etablierung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft im Bauwesen bei.

Gefördert von


BMU
UBA

entwickelt und durchgeführt von


IDZ

Mit Unterstützung von


Beirat
Medienpartner

Bei Fragen


info@bundespreis-ecodesign.de


Wichtige Informationen zum Download finden Sie im


Downloadbereich