Welcome!


The extent to which products influence the environment and our everyday culture is determined greatly by their design. The German Federal Ecodesign Award, which was launched in 2012 by the Federal Environment Ministry and the German Environment Agency, recognises innovative products and concepts that embody high ecological and aesthetic aspirations. The competition welcomes the submission of all types of environmentally friendly alternatives and ideas – from footwear to mobility concepts. For companies and designers, the competition provides a platform for showcasing products and ideas of outstanding ecological- and design quality.

The International Design Center Berlin (IDZ), with the support of a project advisory board, has been commissioned with the development of the competition format and –implementation.

Here you can find more information, why to participate and how to win.

Registered participants can submit their projects until April 27. From then on the evaluation of the projects will start. The jury will meet in October at Kunstgewerbemuseum in Berlin, at the end of November the winners will be officially announced. The German Federal Minister for Environment will award the winners at the ceremony in the ministry.

The German Federal Ecodesign Award will be relaunched in January 2019.


Who is the award aimed at?

The German Federal Ecodesign Award is aimed at companies in all sectors and of all sizes, as well as individual designers. Start-ups or market leaders, local providers or global players are all addressed, alongside design studios, marketing agencies and architectural or engineering offices. Thereby, it is essential that the submitted product is available on the German market, or in the case of services and concepts that they are oriented towards this market. International companies are also permitted to participate in the competition under these premises. In the Young Talent category, the competition is open to students and graduates who have completed their studies no more than three years previously.


What kinds of submissions are considered?

The German Federal Ecodesign Award comprises four categories: Product, Service, Concept and Young Talent. Detailed information on the categories can be found here.
As the winners in previous years demonstrate, the spectrum of prize-winning entries is extremely broad and reflects a scope that stretches beyond specific product groups or business sectors. The open approach allows the involvement of all types of projects, from graphic- and communication design all the way to interaction- or service design. Likewise, innovative solutions in the areas of mobility, sustainable construction and housing, as well as urban design, are all invited to participate, and projects with a focus on technical innovation are strongly encouraged. Products can be submitted from all design areas – from classic industrial, product or fashion design to graphic and communication design, as well as interaction and service design.


How are entries evaluated?

In the German Federal Ecodesign Award, environmental and design aspects are given equal standing. In a multi-stage procedure, the quality of submissions is assessed by experts from the German Federal Environmental Agency, the project advisory board, and the jury. Throughout, consideration is given to the entire product life cycle – from the preliminary stages of production, up to manufacture, distribution, use, reuse/recycling, all the way to disposal. The repercussions for everyday culture and consumer behaviour are also taken into account. You can find more information on the evaluation procedure and criteria here.


What does the award honor?

The German Federal Ecodesign Award recognises and honours pioneers in the field of ecological design. Winners receive an award in their respective category as well as the right to advertise themselves using the Ecodesign title. After the official presentation of the award, the winning entries will be part of a high-profile publicity campaign in a range of media. They will also feature in the online exhibition on the Federal Award website and take part in a touring exhibition. Moreover, winners of the Young Talent award each receive a cash prize of 1,000 euros.


Who grants the award?

Since 2012, the Federal Ecodesign Award has been granted annually by the Federal Environment Ministry (BMUB) and the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) in cooperation with the International Design Center Berlin (IDZ).


What are the aims of the award?

It is now accepted that environmental sustainability and good design need not be contradictory objectives. Indeed, these aspects are now necessarily closely tied – a fact that the Federal Ecodesign Award hopes to illustrate through the public presentation of outstanding examples of ecodesign. The overarching objective is to promote innovation and to support the market introduction and diffusion of environmentally sound products via a high-profile award.
Alongside specific types of products, these changes require the adoption of innovative services and smart concepts that encompass broad, system-oriented solutions. More sustainable production and consumption demands concrete alternatives to existing services as well as long-term changes to common processes. Not least, the objective of a more sustainable society calls for concepts that are capable of influencing consumer- and user behaviour in all of us. The winning projects in the previous competitions demonstrate the diversity of ecodesign and are outstanding examples of the exciting alternatives and new concepts that are already available.

Presented and supported by


BMU
UBA

Developed and implemented by


IDZ

With assistance from


Advisory Board
Media partners


Please direct queries to


info@bundespreis-ecodesign.de

Herzlich willkommen

beim Bundespreis Ecodesign!


Wie sich Produkte auf die Umwelt und unsere Alltagskultur auswirken, wird maßgeblich durch das Design bestimmt. Um das Potential von Ecodesign verstärkt in den öffentlichen Fokus zu rücken und Innovationen auf diesem Gebiet zu fördern, haben Bundesumweltministerium und Umweltbundesamt im Jahr 2012 den Bundespreis Ecodesign ins Leben gerufen. Der Preis zeichnet innovative Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Konzepte aus, die sich durch eine herausragende ökologische Qualität, einen innovativen Ansatz und durch eine hohe Designqualität auszeichnen.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr darüber, warum es sich lohnt, mitzumachen und zu gewinnen.

Am 14. Januar 2019 wird der Bundespreis Ecodesign erneut ausgelobt, die Ausschreibung wird auf dieser Website veröffentlicht.


An wen richtet sich der Preis?

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign richtet sich an Unternehmen aller Branchen und Größen. Start-ups oder Marktführer, lokale Anbieter oder Global Player sind genauso angesprochen wie Designbüros und Marketingagenturen, Architektur- oder Ingenieurbüros. Wichtig ist, dass das eingereichte Produkt auf dem deutschen Markt erhältlich ist bzw. sich als Service oder Konzept an diesen richtet. Unter dieser Prämisse sind auch internationale Unternehmen als Wettbewerbsteilnehmer zugelassen. In der Kategorie Nachwuchs steht der Wettbewerb auch Studierenden sowie Absolventinnen und Absolventen offen, deren Studienabschluss nicht länger als drei Jahre zurückliegt (Stichtag ist der Ausschreibungsbeginn des jeweiligen Wettbewerbjahres).


Was kann eingereicht werden?

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign zielt auf die Förderung nachhaltiger Produktion und nachhaltigen Konsums ab und ist Motor für technische Innovationen. Neben Einreichungen aus dem Konsum- und Gebrauchsgüterbereich sind auch Investitionsgüter gefragt sowie nachhaltige Dienstleistungen, Systemlösungen und zukunftsweisende Konzepte. Der Wettbewerb ist nicht auf bestimmte Branchen oder Designsparten beschränkt. Es können innovative Projekte aus allen Branchen eingereicht werden – von A wie Automobilwirtschaft über B wie Bauwirtschaft, M wie Möbelindustrie oder Maschinenbau, T wie Textilwirtschaft bis Z wie Zweiradindustrie. Die eingereichten Wettbewerbsbeiträge sollten sich durch eine hohe Gestaltungsqualität und Umweltverträglichkeit während ihres gesamten Lebenszyklus auszeichnen und einen hohen Innovationsgrad aufweisen.

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign wird in vier Kategorien vergeben: Produkt, Service, Konzept und Nachwuchs. Näheres zu den vier Kategorien finden Sie hier.


Wie wird bewertet?

Beim Bundespreis Ecodesign stehen die Umwelt- und Designbewertung gleichberechtigt nebeneinander. Die Qualität der Einreichungen wird in einem mehrstufigen Verfahren von Fachleuten aus dem Umweltbundesamt, dem Beirat und der Jury bewertet. Dabei findet der gesamte Produktlebenszyklus von den Vorstufen der Produktion, über die Herstellung, Distribution, Nutzung, Weiter-/Wiederverwendung bis hin zur Entsorgung Beachtung. Auch Auswirkungen auf die Alltagskultur und das Verbraucherverhalten werden berücksichtigt. Näheres zum Bewertungsverfahren und den -kriterien finden Sie hier.


Was wird ausgezeichnet?

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign zeichnet Vorreiter auf dem Gebiet des ökologischen Designs aus. Die Gewinner erhalten eine Auszeichnung in der jeweiligen Kategorie sowie das Recht, damit zu werben. Nach der Preisverleihung werden die ausgezeichneten Beiträge öffentlichkeitswirksam in verschiedenen Medien, in einer Online-Ausstellung auf der Internetseite des Bundespreises sowie in einer Wanderausstellung präsentiert. Die Gewinner des Nachwuchspreises erhalten zusätzlich einen Geldpreis in Höhe von jeweils 1.000 Euro.


Wer lobt den Preis aus?

Seit 2012 wird der Bundespreis Ecodesign jährlich vom Bundesumweltministerium (BMUB) und dem Umweltbundesamt (UBA) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Internationalen Design Zentrum Berlin (IDZ) vergeben.


Welche Ziele hat der Preis?

Umweltverträglichkeit und gutes Design stellen längst keinen Widerspruch mehr dar. Dies will der Bundespreis Ecodesign durch die öffentliche Präsentation herausragender Beispiele für Ecodesign verdeutlichen. Ziel ist es, Innovationen zu fördern und die Markteinführung und Diffusion ökologischer Produkte durch eine öffentlichkeitswirksame Auszeichnung zu unterstützen.

Beim Bundespreis Ecodesign geht es darum, sowohl in Entwicklung und Produktion als auch im Konsumverhalten Veränderungen zu bewirken, die zu einer Entlastung der Umwelt beitragen. Daher sind neben Produkten auch innovative Dienstleistungen oder intelligente Konzepte und Systemlösungen gefragt. Denn für mehr Nachhaltigkeit in Produktion und Konsum braucht es sowohl konkrete Alternativen für bestehende Angebote als auch eine langfristig angelegte Veränderung von Prozessen und nicht zuletzt Konzepte, die geeignet sind, das Konsum- und Verbraucherverhalten eines jeden Einzelnen zu beeinflussen.

Die in den vorhergehenden Wettbewerben 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 und 2016 ausgezeichneten Projekte zeigen, wie vielfältig Ecodesign ist und welch spannende Alternativen bereits entwickelt wurden.

Gefördert von


BMU
UBA

entwickelt und durchgeführt von


IDZ

Mit Unterstützung von


Beirat
Medienpartner

Bei Fragen


info@bundespreis-ecodesign.de


Wichtige Informationen zum Download finden Sie im


Downloadbereich